Posted in Blogging

Keeping Your Sanity in Blog World

It doesn’t take long before those new to Blog World to experience the first feelings of impending . . .

Burnout sign

I experience it every day. Now although I have taken on more writing responsibilities I’ve started taking control of my Blog World. If you don’t do it in the beginning, it takes months to dig yourself out if you are like me. So why not start your experience off on the right foot, or left, or . . . let’s do this the correct way.

 

We all blog for different reasons. I love my Friends in Blog World but too much of a good thing and I am just about dead. I need time for other things, like writing my novels, spending time with my son, reading books (that are really for reviews for my blog) and sleeping. I may have forgotten something important in there, I am sure of it.

But breaks don’t always happen. That’s why you and I have to . . .

 

Three Ways to Keep your Sanity in Blog World

Before you even start a blog need to consider these three things and stick to them.

#1

Set boundaries for your Blog Life

  • How available to do you want to be?
  • Do you want to be personable in your interactions?
  • Do you allow access to your various social networks?

Basically you want to be able to have your readers connect with you through your writing. Be satisfied with that. You will make a few friends and I am not saying to limit yourself. Just keep your Blog World in Blog World. I have made some great friends and we talk on Twitter and Facebook. I’m not saying it’s wrong or bad or anything. If you have thousands of followers and 1 percent want to talk to you, that ends up taking a big chuck of your time. I have one friend who spends as great deal of time just responding to comments.

Also you want to remember why you are in Blog World in the first place, to Blog.

#2

Set a schedule for your Blog Content

  • You can write all you like, but I recommend that you save that writing in drafts for those days you just don’t feel like writing at all.
  • Set how many posts you want to put out per day and/or week and stick to it.
  • Make time to visit other blogs you enjoy.

I have had a problem with this. I blog write like a mad man. I am all over the place writing, and I do enjoy writing. I don’t want anyone to get me wrong about that. If I had saved my writing and limited myself to just 2 posts per day I would be set for the year. Just think about that. You could do all the writing your want and schedule it for months ahead, freeing up your time for writing your novel or whatever else you might like to do.

Another thing about content management. Give your content time to be viewed. If you load up content then things get pushed down and are not seen. Give it time.

#3

When your Blog Schedule is over . . . unplug

  • Disconnect from your blog and social networking
  • Set time for your other life activities.

This is a bit wrong in how I set it. You set time to blog, the rest is your life. Make sure that when you are not scheduled to do Blog World things that you disconnect yourself. Blogging can become an addiction. It replaces needs in peoples lives. We enjoy it, we can share it, we can be us, we can create, we can express ourselves, we are the world. Pretty cool stuff really.

I tried to set a schedule not long ago and ended up feeling guilty as people felt I didn’t want to talk to them. Well Ronovan has to toughen up or just get out of Blog World. Schedule is coming.

Blogging is a great life. If you manage it from the beginning you don’t need to worry about burnout so much and you will enjoy it a lot more. Some reading this will hate it. They will say “You can’t schedule your friends.” Well you know what? I would rather schedule my friends than burnout so bad that I lose them.

 

Much Respect

Ronovan

bloglovin

2014 © Copyright-All rights reserved by ronovanwrites.wordpress.com

Author:

Ronovan Hester is an author, with a debut historical adventure novel Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling now on available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle. "5.0 out of 5 stars: Now, I want to warn you… this is not your typical pirate tale! It’s BETTER!" "5.0 out of 5 stars: Totally unpredictable and a real gem of a discovery - Highly Recommended" "5.0 out of 5 stars: An action packed journey to piracy and revenge – all in the name of the crown, queen and county – set in 1705." He shares his life of problems and triumphs through his blog RonovanWrites.WordPress.com. His love of writing, authors and community through his online world has led to a growing Weekly Haiku Challenge, Weekly Fiction Prompt Challenge, and the creation of a site dedicated to book reviews, interviews and author resources known as LitWorldInterviews.com.

37 thoughts on “Keeping Your Sanity in Blog World

    1. Fer Sur
      (I had to do that, I’ve never typed fer sur before. The Twitter brought it out in me.)
      That’s part of just unplugging. It’s insane. Then again I am talking to a Story Reading Ape. o,O
      I expect George of the Jungle to swing by at any time.

      Liked by 2 people

        1. You know as a kid I once used a tree to stop my bike. I freaked out and forgot how to hit the breaks. Bike was fine, chin was . . . well, I’m not certain if I had that cleft/dimpled chin before or after that stop. No one yelled “watch out for that tree.”

          Liked by 1 person

          1. YEP! – That’s the trouble with trees – there you are merrily trundling along at a speed that would give Jason Button a cardiac arrest and suddenly out of nowhere -a dirty great TREE leaps out from behind some bushes and spoils your day – telegraph poles and parked cars are just as inconsiderate 😀

            Liked by 1 person

    1. There you are. Missed you in the land of Wordless Haiku.That is not a comment to get you to do it again. I actually pulled it due to lack of participation. 🙂 And thank you for the comment.

      Like

      1. Sorry… it was such a fun idea – I just got busy with the fall semester starting with school these last couple of weeks. I’ve been slacking on my flash fiction contests, too….sad times! I enjoyed the Wordless Haiku, though… maybe it can make a comeback sometime!

        Like

  1. really sensible advice here; another thing I would add if it’s ok; I and many others (who first told me of it) find it very helpful: that is to set up another blog and keep it private; it’s not only real useful for trying out how a different theme would look, or a new layout; it’s also extremely helpful as a thought space; and even a vent space, which is good for letting off any steam lol 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I have many blog names saved, but none for that purpose. hmmm . . . now I beginning to think. RonovanRants. Has a nice sound to it. 🙂 I rant in my poetry but this might be interesting.

      Like

  2. I’ve started receiving emails when anyone posts and although I’m finding it time-consuming, it allows me to catch up in my own time without relying on the wordpress reader. When i’m back into my routine, I’m going to allow myself 30 mins every morning. Thanks, Ronovan 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! There are a lot of things you can learn about blogging, but these are really some that will help you that aren’t the usual you might see. 🙂 And I want to thank you for commenting, reading and following. I don’t say that enough to anyone, but I suddenly felt that I wanted to say that to you. So thank you very much for being so wonderful.
      Much Respect
      Ronovan

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh, I didn’t mean you’re the invader! No, no, no. Sorry!
            One person sent a nasty-gram via personal email to growl at me for not visiting her blog. (I stopped visiting because she’s a jerk; her email reinforced that belief. I told her to shove off. So far, no more nasty-grams.) A second person felt comfortable enough to start forwarding religious-political emails which I found very offensive. Am choosing to ignore them but at some point that’s no longer going to work.

            But hey – hoping to start work on the wordless haiku soon. Having a bit of an off day though.

            And I don’t sleep either. So we’re equally matched, sleep-deprivation-psychosis-wise. 😉

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I was joking about being an invader. I get asked about visiting blogs too. I visit but sometimes forget to hit like or the fibromyalgia has me wonky that day. As for the religious thing. Well I’m a Christian guy but more on the order of how Jesus went about it. He said if someone didn’t want to listen then dust off your feet and move on. People have their choices.
              I try to keep the overt religion out of my blog but only because it doesn’t always fit. I do Sunday Thoughts about my faith, but that’s Sundays. People forget that we’re people too and have thoughts, aren’t perfect, make mistakes. I wish some “Christians” remembered that too before they send emails like that.
              Sorry about harping here. But pushy Christians kind of get to me. They aren’t doing as they are supposed to do.
              I’ll stop now. grrrr 🙂

              Like

              1. So glad you didn’t think I was calling you an invader — whew!

                I figure people have a right to blog about whatever they want to blog about. If I don’t like it I don’t hit “like” and I don’t comment — I just move on. But there’s a line that’s been crossed when people start sending emails. It’s awkward and uncomfortable. And when the email claims that all people of a different faith (won’t name which one) are evil and out to destroy the world as we know it … well … not good at all.

                But hey … I’m rambling and certainly not improving the fatigue situation at all!

                Like

Leave a Reply

