Posted in Poetry

The Morning After

The day after Thankful finds me in bed

For some odd reason I wish I were dead

Was it that second helping of baked ham

Or was it watching too much of Yosemite Sam

Of deviled ham I did warn

But deviled eggs have come to scorn

Who invented celery for the dressing dish

The first to suggest it well for them I have a wish

And why do the desserts come at the end of the meal

I left without even a morsel for I had had my fill

the_morning_after.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Did I go out early in the eve

Trying to find a deal being quite naive

Perhaps I just missed out on what mattered most

But there are of some things you just cannot post

For all of you out doing shopping mania

Are those lines all the way back to Albania

Do you see the last of the three of the things you wanted

With the empty shelf will your dreams become haunted

Don’t forget the turkey sandwiches left to be eaten

Take the gas-x so the internal combustion can be beaten

All in all I suppose I must live

Because I have so much more rhyming left to give

 

So no worries about me ending up there right now in Heavan

Much Respect, from me, the one and only Ronovan

Ron_LWI

 

 

 

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

© Copyright-All rights reserved by ronovanwrites.wordpress.com 2014

 

 

Author:

Ronovan Hester is an author, with a debut historical adventure novel Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling now on available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle. "5.0 out of 5 stars: Now, I want to warn you… this is not your typical pirate tale! It’s BETTER!" "5.0 out of 5 stars: Totally unpredictable and a real gem of a discovery - Highly Recommended" "5.0 out of 5 stars: An action packed journey to piracy and revenge – all in the name of the crown, queen and county – set in 1705." He shares his life of problems and triumphs through his blog RonovanWrites.WordPress.com. His love of writing, authors and community through his online world has led to a growing Weekly Haiku Challenge, Weekly Fiction Prompt Challenge, and the creation of a site dedicated to book reviews, interviews and author resources known as LitWorldInterviews.com.

One thought on “The Morning After

  1. I ate too much yesterday for sure: why did I go back for seconds? (Because my mother-in-law’s sweet potato/pecan casserole is amazing — that’s why!) I haven’t ventured out to shop yet . . .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

