Posted in Writing

My Sunday Thought: Be slow and Do it, Don’t Spew it.

Yes, Cat-Man is continuing his dedication to his Sunday Theeowwts. If some of you are wondering “How I Became Cat-Man” simply check yesterday’s article. I assure you it is more painful than it sounds.

You know, people like to take a look at someone and make a judgement. I don’t know what your opinions of me have been since my profile photo reveal, and to be honest it wouldn’t matter in regards to if I kept writing or not. No intent to offend just assuring you I am good with my appearance accept with the side effects of the Lyrica I am taking due to my Fibromyalgia, but I have taken extreme action to counter act that.

Some look at me and see the red hair and think I must have a short fuse, that I blow my top at the drop of a hat. Actually I tend to stay quiet and carry on as normal and let things just go away.

I have to say that the letter of James in the Bible is one of my favorites. You know that might surprise some but I like my verses to be straight forward and in my face. I love Jesus but sometimes you have to admit those parables just make your head hurt. Some of them I love but some of them I just have to think about a bit. I get them, but still. But if given the choice, I would take every one of those words attributed to Jesus and just go by them and be happy.

The book of James is attributed to the half brother of Jesus. That’s right the actual real brother of the Son. You know that had to be a tough act to follow. “Why can’t you be perfect like Jesus?” “Jesus never called me a camel’s behind.”

James 1:21-22
21 Therefore, get rid of all moral filth and the evil that is so prevalent and humbly accept the word planted in you, which can save you.
22 Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.

Good one, right? Those are the two verses I received from my Bible verse generators. Now let me add in the verses before it.

19 My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, 20 because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires. 21 Therefore, get rid of all moral filth and the evil that is so prevalent and humbly accept the word planted in you, which can save you.
22 Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.

Yes, I like to give the verses that the following verses are “There For”. Touch of humor there and play on words but it’s true. When you see “therefore” in the Bible it’s “there for” a reason so back up if you jump in at a “therefore” spot.

Are these not amazing verses. Someone all trying to be smart might say that while I was being slow to anger they would kick my bee hind. It doesn’t say do not be aware, do not be prepared, it is saying do not be stupid. For the “smart” person, to be quick to anger and to attack a quiet person is to be “stupid”. You try to kick my bee hind and you might get stung.

Yesterday I could have reacted with quick anger and hurled a cat many yards away from me or into a wall. But my mind raced through several things in the span of seconds. My habit of being slow to anger came in handy. A 70 year old grandmother was not destroyed by a frightened cat and a frightened, and normally sweet cat is now spade and will no longer be attacked by every male cat that comes by nor will her brothers, Spunky being one of them, be attacked for being a male cat in her presence and thus competition.

Quick to listen and slow to anger. Another verse associated with these is;

Proverbs 10:19

Sin is not ended by multiplying words,
    but the prudent hold their tongues.

And another;

Proverbs 17:28

Even fools are thought wise if they keep silent,
    and discerning if they hold their tongues.

You have probably been in that situation where you are listening to two people or even just one person talking about some strange subject and you are sitting there quietly and intently paying attention. Then you are asked if you agree or your opinion. You sit silently trying to come up with something to say while keeping a straight and thoughtful expression. The people involved quickly begin to think you are wise in seeing something such as the weaknesses in their arguments that they had hoped would escape notice. I am not wise, I am just good at the straight face and an expression that apparently conveys “are you seriously trying to tell me that load”.

How can you apply these verses to life?

How can you not? You can see events on the news that would have been avoided if one or both parties involved had practiced what these words say. Quick words only cause problems. And that is not just in the areas of anger. This can even be in the area of the heart. Take everything possible slowly to be sure what is really is what it is.

I often say during my Sunday Thoughts that it doesn’t matter if you are a Christian or not, you can gain something from the words and apply them to your life. And for those who are Christians, I have a saying I used to use when speaking to youth;

do_it_dont_spew_it.png

Ronovan

Romans 1:16

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

© Copyright-All rights reserved by ronovanwrites.wordpress.com 2014

Author:

Ronovan Hester is an author, with a debut historical adventure novel Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling now on available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle. "5.0 out of 5 stars: Now, I want to warn you… this is not your typical pirate tale! It’s BETTER!" "5.0 out of 5 stars: Totally unpredictable and a real gem of a discovery - Highly Recommended" "5.0 out of 5 stars: An action packed journey to piracy and revenge – all in the name of the crown, queen and county – set in 1705." He shares his life of problems and triumphs through his blog RonovanWrites.WordPress.com. His love of writing, authors and community through his online world has led to a growing Weekly Haiku Challenge, Weekly Fiction Prompt Challenge, and the creation of a site dedicated to book reviews, interviews and author resources known as LitWorldInterviews.com.

One thought on “My Sunday Thought: Be slow and Do it, Don’t Spew it.

Leave a Reply

