Posted in Opinion Articles

Ronovan Ranting

Sometimes you just have to write. It’s 1 AM here in America and I am having a hard time sleeping. This old man goes through that at times. After this past weekend I have even more reasons to keep me from sleep. I might would put a link to that story but WordPress isn’t letting me add links or Media to posts right now. (Was able to now link to “How I Became Cat-Man”)

There are times I can’t sleep because my mind does not shut down. I literally have to just drop to sleep. Recently my mind has been on the whole Ferguson situation as I see the poor handling of it all by the media. Yes, I have a problem with the media at times. If you’ve read my blog long enough you’ve seen mention of how I see them as instigators of many a problem in societies across the world.

I’m not even sure if it’s the legit media that I am angry at right now, but perhaps the pretend media that happens to get picked up by online outlets like Yahoo to fill their spots and to get the most hits from sensationalist headlines.

Personally I understand the protests that are occurring, but not the looting, the burning of property and the like. You’re angry? Okay, who are you angry with? Is it the police, the legal system? Why are the protests not centered around those buildings? Why are they in places that end up keeping people from getting to work and subsequently getting them fired, or so I have heard. That could just be media hype.

You know one thing that makes me mad at the moment? The New York Times printing the street name where that police officer lives. He and his wife had to take off.

Know something else that bugs me? The St. Louis Rams. 5 players did the Hands Up sign in support of the protestors. So far the word is there will be no punishment because they were practicing their right to free speech.

Okay, so using their celebrity and the NFL and networks to continue to fuel a situation is okay. I got it. You fine a man who refuses to answer questions in an interview. I guess that wasn’t his right to free speech. You fine people for wearing Beats by Dr. Dre during press meetings and the like, I guess that’s not free speech.

I’m angry a little bit. Am I a racist person? No. Far from it. I think any of you that know me can attest to that as a fact. For one, you all know I only believe in one race, the human race. I think they should do away with race classifications on everything. Just make it a non issue. The government doesn’t want a racial problem? Then stop asking what race people are.

Will that make a big difference? Not to start with. But it’s a beginning. My son didn’t even know that people with dark skin were called Black until he learned it at school as he got a little older. He would say the girl with the darker skin. Or he would say the boy with the real white skin. To him it was just a skin tone.

Well I could go on and on and really say a lot about what I think about this whole situation but it’s late and I have a doctor’s appointment today. I guess I should sleep some. If I offended anyone . . . these are my opinions and I don’t think I actually said anything against anyone other than those doing damage to property or acting in ways that are foolish.  Protest all you like, just do it peacefully. It works.

You know, if you want my opinions on a subject, leave a comment or fill out the form at the bottom of the post. I’ll then do a post on it. Why not, right?

We can call it Ask Ronovan or Ronovan’s Rants or something like that. I would be more open and direct than I have been here. Any topic is okay with me. I think you all know that by now. I don’t shy away from the sensitive or touchy subjects. So leave a comment or send a message and I’ll write a topic. I may even and  a specific page if the response warrants it. And if you fill out the form on the About page just mention you want your name left out of the post and I’ll leave it out. Otherwise I’ll give you a shout out and link to your own blog if you have one.

Yeah, this was a random rambling thing that ended up with a new post idea. Who knew pain and posting would end up here?

Oh, and a blog tip: When you are labeling your images, go ahead and label them something like st-louis-rams.jpg.jpg Why? Well when SEO looks for it they like to see that jpg or png included in your images. But if you ever notice when you look at your images after loading the jpg or png is not there, so go ahead and add it to the actual name of the image then no extra work once you are in the posting process. Now they already see the jpg in your file name so you don’t HAVE to put it here. it’s up to you. I sometimes do and sometimes don’t.

Much Respect and an End To Races

Ronovan

Author:

Ronovan Hester is an author, with a debut historical adventure novel Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling now on available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle. "5.0 out of 5 stars: Now, I want to warn you… this is not your typical pirate tale! It’s BETTER!" "5.0 out of 5 stars: Totally unpredictable and a real gem of a discovery - Highly Recommended" "5.0 out of 5 stars: An action packed journey to piracy and revenge – all in the name of the crown, queen and county – set in 1705." He shares his life of problems and triumphs through his blog RonovanWrites.WordPress.com. His love of writing, authors and community through his online world has led to a growing Weekly Haiku Challenge, Weekly Fiction Prompt Challenge, and the creation of a site dedicated to book reviews, interviews and author resources known as LitWorldInterviews.com.

Leave a Reply

