Posted in Videos/Music

I Want To Tell You-A Writer’s Thoughts

As a writer I have things I want to tell you, but often I just don’t know how. Choosing between words and thoughts can get in the way of the creative process and kill dreams quicker than a lovers ‘whatever’.

As we pick up pen, grab a laptop or even go to our phones to quickly put thoughts to text we lose it. Those magical descriptions that floated through that slightly thick almost tangible air that we could feel grabbing hold of us like an enveloping blanket during a cold night.

We write and we write and then we look back and we realize we have not written anything like what we had thought or felt. The words we wanted to say had slipped away and were replaced by cliched drivel in the key of frustration.

Looking through song choices for today I came across a Beatles song from the Revolver album written and performed by George Harrison. I often mistake Harrison and Lennon’s voices at times, I suppose that is part of what makes the harmonies work so well. Harrison was the in between. He was the & in Lennon & McCartney.

With ‘I Wan To Tell You’, Harrison says everything a writer feels. Perhaps he’s talking to a lover, to that girl, to a future or current spouse. Perhaps it’s to a friend. Or maybe he’s speaking as one person to another. He commented later in life that in the chorus;

But if I seem to act unkind
It isn’t me, it’s just my mind
That is confusing things

he should have flipped the lines two parts of the second line. And I believe that really is what he meant and was actually how I took it when I first read the lines.  But flipping them makes it more clear. Our minds confuse things that we think are much simpler. Once our brains get involved it’s all over.

This is one of those forgotten gems that at first when listen to it you are a little unsure but then when you realize the contrast of the words in the song, then you get the contrast of the music and the voices in the song as well. Plodding and melodic, tonal and harmonizing. You have it all.

 

I want to tell you
My head is filled with things to say
When you’re here
All those words, they seem to slip away

When I get near you
The games begin to drag me down
It’s all right
I’ll make you maybe next time around

But if I seem to act unkind
It isn’t me, it’s just my mind
That is confusing things

I want to tell you
I feel hung up and I don’t know why
But I don’t mind
I could wait forever, I’ve got time, I’ve got time

Sometimes I wish I knew you well
Then I could speak my mind and tell you
Maybe you’d understand

I want to tell you
I feel hung up and I don’t know why
I don’t mind
I could wait forever, I’ve got time

I’ve got time
I’ve got time
I’ve got time

 

Much Respect

Ronovan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

© Copyright-All rights reserved by ronovanwrites.wordpress.com 2014

Author:

Ronovan Hester is an author, with a debut historical adventure novel Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling now on available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle. "5.0 out of 5 stars: Now, I want to warn you… this is not your typical pirate tale! It’s BETTER!" "5.0 out of 5 stars: Totally unpredictable and a real gem of a discovery - Highly Recommended" "5.0 out of 5 stars: An action packed journey to piracy and revenge – all in the name of the crown, queen and county – set in 1705." He shares his life of problems and triumphs through his blog RonovanWrites.WordPress.com. His love of writing, authors and community through his online world has led to a growing Weekly Haiku Challenge, Weekly Fiction Prompt Challenge, and the creation of a site dedicated to book reviews, interviews and author resources known as LitWorldInterviews.com.

7 thoughts on “I Want To Tell You-A Writer’s Thoughts

  1. I was thinking about the same topic last night as I wrote my first words of original fiction in years. I have all the outlines for the short stories and but there were difference in how I pictured/felt the scene at first and how it came out. Sometimes, it gets better, sometimes you have to rework as it’s disappointing (at least to you, the writer who first imagined things). It is an intricate process. I also experience it a lot when it comes to vidding. I picture the videos, the right clips on this line of the song, but by the time I reach the computer and have to dig through tons of material, the flow just vanished.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Boy, this post really resonated with me, Ronovan. Sometimes I literally get things backwards when I write or pick a word that starts with the same letter as the word I wanted. It is discouraging. Every once in a while, though, I go back and read something I wrote years ago, and I think, “Wow, I actually got it right!” More often, though, I shake my head and think, “Back to the drawing board.”

    Love Harrison as the &. (I would not describe myself as a knowledgeable Beatles fan, however.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Certainly true! My first love was always painting…I’ve loved it since I could hold a crayon in my hands. And the expression, “A picture is worth a thousand words” always rang true for me. Vincent Van Gogh once said that sometimes he was afraid to begin a painting because it may not turn out on canvas the way he envisioned it in his mind. I could soulfully relate to that, and I suppose the same is true for writing. Well, that’s my take on it.

    Have a joyous day, and blessings for being able to perfectly express what is in you.

    Marianne

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How many times I have been in the position you describe, Ronovan? Lots. I had a great Christmas poem come to mind yesterday morning when out walking Toby and did not have my iPhone on me. By the time I came back home, I just could not put those words together.

    This morning, I took my phone with me in the hope the words would come back but, no, no sign of them. Then I started taking some photos of the wonderful winter’s morning we had here in Hove and my phone runs out of power. It just wasn’t to be for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is one of those Beatles songs that I feel is greatly underappreciated. Maybe because it’s a George song? I don’t know. I have always felt drawn to this song because, like you, I feel that it really says more than you first realize. I think what you describe is something writers feel often. Lately nothing I write sounds like it did in my head! The more I think, the less clear it becomes.

    And I love the description of George being the &- how incredibly accurate! I need to share this thought with my son, Andrew.

    Thanks for capturing what I’m thinking and writing it much better than I could have!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

