Posted in Humor, Poetry

It’s After Midnight.

It’s after midnight
Santa’s done been and gone
His reindeer were a bit messy
They took liberties on the lawn

I guess that’s okay
As long as I get something nice
I wonder if I’ll get
The complete series of Miami Vice

I’ve eaten enough dressing
I’ve had a lot of the oink
Too bad this year
I didn’t get a Christmas . . .

Anyway, I should be asleep
But that doesn’t seem to be the case
I keep considering taking a peek at the tree
But there is not even a nightlight in this place

What do I really want for Christmas
Well let me count them one by one
I would like to have a literary agent
Who makes deals like they’re holding a gun

Give me a one of a kind thought
To write a best selling book
One with a lot of action
And a lot of steam for the leads as they cook

Find me the right publisher
Who thinks I am the best
Takes me under their wing
And ignores all the rest

Then give me a life long talent
To write book after book a hit
So whenever I need to express myself
All I need is a laptop and a place to sit

Give me a muse to inspire me
Make her something to behold
Give her all my dreams fulfilled
Even the ones I’ve never told

Now I best get to sleep
I hear an odd thumping
It’s either Santa back for another pass
Or there is someone upstairs um bumping

Around

tree

Ronovan

PS: There’s not really any good oink around here anyway. Just saying.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

© Copyright-All rights reserved by ronovanwrites.wordpress.com 2014

Author:

Ronovan Hester is an author, with a debut historical adventure novel Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling now on available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle. "5.0 out of 5 stars: Now, I want to warn you… this is not your typical pirate tale! It’s BETTER!" "5.0 out of 5 stars: Totally unpredictable and a real gem of a discovery - Highly Recommended" "5.0 out of 5 stars: An action packed journey to piracy and revenge – all in the name of the crown, queen and county – set in 1705." He shares his life of problems and triumphs through his blog RonovanWrites.WordPress.com. His love of writing, authors and community through his online world has led to a growing Weekly Haiku Challenge, Weekly Fiction Prompt Challenge, and the creation of a site dedicated to book reviews, interviews and author resources known as LitWorldInterviews.com.

12 thoughts on “It’s After Midnight.

  1. Merry Christmas Ronovan! Lovely poem, very tongue-in-cheek tinged with the sadness of reality. You really have a way with words that you can bring so many emotions into a single piece and make it still so suitable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

