Posted in A to Z Challenge-Comic Creators Around the World

Batman to Deadpool to Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Romanian Connection

Today’s walk into Graphic Literature will be a simple one. A retrospective about one man and it will be short. We’re headed to Romania. No fluff, let’s get to it.

Sandu galbarFlorea (1946-).1 His career goes back to 1968 with a children’s magazine Luminiţa and a series, Păcală.

Perhaps what is truly his moment in Romanian comics’ history comes in 1973 with Galbar. This is thought to be the first science fiction comic book in Romania. Considering all the art I’ve seen while researching for this article that’s saying a lot.

He wasn’t simply a science fiction guy. Part of his large catalog in Romania is the retelling of Romanian history through Graphic Literature, winning a Eurocon, science fiction convention, award in 1980.

Problems began for him in communist Romania when in around 1984 he requested to leave for the United States where his two brothers were living. His right to publish was revoked and he had to use pen names to work. After the 1989 revolution, he returned under his own name.

Not long after we find him in New York. And soon after he was inking comics for Marvel Comics such as Conan, Spider-Man, Thor, Captain America, and many others.  What’s an inker? You have an artist/drawer/penciler who draws the books, then the inker goes over those lines to make them look finished and polished and so the printing can actually pick up the images. He even did work at DC on the characters Superman and Batman. Some might be surprised to hear he also worked on two books for Dark Horse Comics called Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel.

When asked what has been his favorite title or character to work on Florea did not hesitate to say Batman, having worked on Batman R.I.P. and other stories. This according to an interview at the 2011 New York City Comic Con.2

And he’s still going strong today.

conan
He gave samples for Conan to Marvel because he thought it was the best suited for him. No super powers. Sword wielding and battles. He had done that sort of thing before.
batman
Notice without the proper inking over the lines and given the right shading, you would not even see much to this scene. It has been noted an inker can make or break a comic.
super-wonder
I’ve spoken of this scene previously. And I had no idea Florea inked it.
deathstroke
Serious DC Comics fans should be geeking now. Deathstroke. He’s been around a long time and is one of my favorite DC characters, depending on which version DC lets him be this year.
deadpool
Yep, giving you some Marvel loving with Florea’s inking on Deadpool. With the upcoming movie, I couldn’t resist.
buffy6
Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Do I have this issue? Probably. I think I have them all. Don’t ask. I have no idea why.
buffy-spike
I had to give some Buffy and Spike fans a little taste. I couldn’t share the other two I found. I think this one should explain the others.

That’s it for today. Hope you enjoyed.

 

Let’s connect.

https://twitter.com/RonovanWrites

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ronovan-Writes/630347477034132

https://plus.google.com/u/0/+RonovanWrites/about

ronovan-profile-bw

 

 

 

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

© Copyright-All rights reserved by ronovanwrites.wordpress.com 2015

 

Return to Top
References
1 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandu_Florea
2 http://reviewfix.com/2011/10/review-fix-2011-new-york-city-comic-con-coverage-interview-with-batman-inker-sandu-florea/

Author:

Ronovan Hester is an author, with a debut historical adventure novel Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling now on available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle. "5.0 out of 5 stars: Now, I want to warn you… this is not your typical pirate tale! It’s BETTER!" "5.0 out of 5 stars: Totally unpredictable and a real gem of a discovery - Highly Recommended" "5.0 out of 5 stars: An action packed journey to piracy and revenge – all in the name of the crown, queen and county – set in 1705." He shares his life of problems and triumphs through his blog RonovanWrites.WordPress.com. His love of writing, authors and community through his online world has led to a growing Weekly Haiku Challenge, Weekly Fiction Prompt Challenge, and the creation of a site dedicated to book reviews, interviews and author resources known as LitWorldInterviews.com.

4 thoughts on “Batman to Deadpool to Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Romanian Connection

  1. I do some digital inking/coloring for my wife and daughter on some of their art projects, and so I have a great appreciation for that sort of work. Of course inkers are very much artists in their own right; but I understand how important (for better or for worse) it can be. I say this because others have done this for me, the one example I can think of was a HS student project, and I was a little bit bummed because my classmate lost some of the nuance I was trying to achieve. (It wasn’t for an art class, but a government one. But an art buddy classmate appreciated what I was doing.)

    I’m sure you’re aware that this sort of work has importance in animation, as well, maybe more so because a lot of workers have to emulate the style of a lead artist, and keep it consistent.

    I guess it’s in the blood, Ronovan. Don Bluth is one of my father’s cousins.

    Like

  2. Ohhh I am beyond jelaus of your comic book collection. Not only do you have the anne rice ones, but buffy as well! I got buffy season 8 on dvd. I am the ultimate Buffy fan. I just love the Buffy verse. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

