Posted in #BeWoW

Be Okay with You!

Be okay with who you are. I am okay with who I am. I guess okay is a mild world but I think if I went around saying I am great with who I am all the time I would sound a bit strange. Sometimes I feel like junk, so even though I understand it, it’s part of my everyday life now, and I can look past it to my life overall, I’m still going to say okay.

Some people out there, motivational people, don’t like you saying things like “I’m okay”, they want you to say “I’m fantastic.” Sorry but I’m not a subliminal self-cheerleader. If I want a cheerleader, I have three that I can turn to anytime who will help me out.

So, it’s fine to say you’re okay. You knowing you mean is what matters.

Now, part of being okay with you is realizing that whatever you are might have some feedback coming. An example is my being in a handicap spot at the grocery store when I look healthy. I’m going to get looks and comments. I don’t say anything but I still feel it, but I’m good with it. If I have a problem with it, believe me, I’ll say something and I’ll say it in such a way the person would be standing there with their mouth open wondering what just happened.

It’s like my son likes to do at school. He’ll explain something to a bully in such a way the bully has no idea what was just said and feel so dumb they have to walk away. It pays to be a nerd/gifted kid who reads at least 4-5 grade levels ahead.

But here is a piece of advice to the friends of those people who are okay with who they are. You be okay with them. If a situation like the handicap spot comes up, follow their lead. If they don’t have a problem, you don’t have a problem. Trust me, the okay person knows what to do better than you do most of the time.

Me? I don’t feed the ignorance. I see the same people at places and I don’t get the looks from them. They have either figured out I belong in the handicap spot or they realize they have no influence on me. And just like the bully, they walk away.

Now some of you will say that you can’t ignore everything, and believe me, I know that. When it is aimed at you, do what you want to, but when it’s your friend? Yeah, it’s your friend’s call.

I’m an easygoing guy. Well, I am mostly. Mess with my son? It’s on like Brenda Song. Hmm, not sure that is the write rhyme, but hey, I like Brenda Song.

We give fuel to words and actions. We do this for ourselves for positive good or we can give it to others for use for negative bad. The choice is yours. Do you have the strength to be okay with who you are?

lucy-love-yourself

Much Love, Success, and Respect

Ronovan

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

© Copyright-All rights reserved by ronovanwrites.wordpress.com 2015

Author:

Ronovan Hester is an author, with a debut historical adventure novel Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling now on available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle. "5.0 out of 5 stars: Now, I want to warn you… this is not your typical pirate tale! It’s BETTER!" "5.0 out of 5 stars: Totally unpredictable and a real gem of a discovery - Highly Recommended" "5.0 out of 5 stars: An action packed journey to piracy and revenge – all in the name of the crown, queen and county – set in 1705." He shares his life of problems and triumphs through his blog RonovanWrites.WordPress.com. His love of writing, authors and community through his online world has led to a growing Weekly Haiku Challenge, Weekly Fiction Prompt Challenge, and the creation of a site dedicated to book reviews, interviews and author resources known as LitWorldInterviews.com.

11 thoughts on “Be Okay with You!

  1. The part of how you and your son “handle” a bully so resonates with me; I did/do the same thing. And that way is so much more gratifying than loosing my dignity and coming down to their level, at least for me it is! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had a fellow resident who would always answer “How are you?” with “Flawless.” He was pretty awesome and funny too.

    Like

  3. ‘They have either figured out I belong in the handicap spot or they realize they have no influence on me.’
    Yes, that’s the kind of influence one should have on those who bully us.

    But what if this bullying is from someone within the family or close group of friends? Is it better to ignore them and thus not let them have any influence? Or should one face them, make them sit and talk. Ask them and probe what there real problem is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

